Alexandria City Public Schools

Alexandria City Public Schools (ACPS) believes in equity, empowerment and inspiring students to thrive. There are eighteen schools: 1 PreK, 12 Elementary, 2 K-8, 2 Middle, and 1 High School spanning multiple campuses (grade 9 and grades 10-12 are separated). Registration and enrollment is done through the central office and requires a variety of documents and steps, beginning with discovering your zoned school(s)

The Talented and Gifted (TAG) Program has a specific identification process as well as a self-referral opportunity. The automatic referral process begins in first grade. 

The Office of Specialized Instruction coordinates learning for the special education population.  

Early Education

Alexandria City Public Schools has three early childhood education components. Eligibility and locations are found at the ink.

Elementary & Middle Levels  

ACPS has one PreK-8 International Baccalaureate (IB) school where every student participates in IB learning: Jefferson-Houston. In addition, there are Spanish-English two-way dual language programs at four schools.  

K-5 Expectations are listed out by level here

High School 

Alexandria City High School is broken up into ten learning academies, or smaller learning community groups. Students in ninth grade remain with their same groups throughout the school year. When students move to tenth grade, they will remain with the same learning academy and administrator through graduation. The leadership team may be found here and registrar information here. Athletics and clubs information is here.   

ACPS has a partnership with George Mason University, called the Early Identification Program (EIP). ACPS also offers support through alternative education, including Sheltercare.   

Career and Technical Education is available.